Taste of Israel : Israel Diary – 3

funny-one-liners-my-cooking-is-so-awesomeWhen its food, I follow the rule strictly – Food is an important part of balanced living. Now if the diet I am having is balanced or not, well I prefer not to divulge into much discussion there.

Cooking on the other hand is something I try not to get into. Most of my cooking stories usually end with a fire extinguisher! Minniedi, who runs a food blog (LINK), tried her best to turn me into, if not good, a decent cook. I fail to identify masalas. Come now, I even carry a history of making a colourful salad adding different peppers, including chili pepper. Lost count of number of times I forgot to put the mixer lid and ended up painting the roof with different colours. Somehow I have found when I stand before the gas stove, the matter never boils. But moment I leave kitchen, it’s a nice homemade charcoal that I get.

In Israel, with all my escapades, including burning Maggi, my friends have asked me not to try my experimentation’s in the kitchen. A boon in disguise! πŸ˜‰

While staying in this country I made sure to try many foods. Some very unique ones while few similar to what we have in India. Sharing some of the same with all.

Untitled-15

Hummus served with I think Turkey egg. Not exactly sure what our host said.

Untitled-1

This I would say was Momo, something we used to have at a Tibetian joint in Kolkata.

Untitled-13

Fish, had this at one friend’s place during Rosh Hashana dinner.

Untitled-14

Those are stuffed apples. Another Rosh Hshana dinner food. This is a must during Hashana treat.

Untitled-12

Looked and tasted lot like fried chicken Momos. Though each of them were tied with some herb.

Untitled-2

They said its made from Kosher, which what I have got from all my Israeli language knowledge means pork. I could be even wrong! Sorry but didn’t try this.

Untitled-3

When we asked them their reply was – Its made from different marine reptiles. The very word reptile put me off like anything and could not get myself into trying. Later we got to know its sea food, shrimps, mollusks and stuff, and no reptiles are used to make it.

Untitled-9

You can see hummus at the back. The front one had meat and vegetables cooked together.

Untitled-8

Untitled-6

Shwarma, grilled meat.

Untitled-10

Rounded bread filled with Labane and then salad. What I could make out, Labane is close to a mixture of yogurt and cheese.

Untitled-11

Sort of our chapati, topped with labane, herbs, some masala powder, meat/chicken balls and with Falafel, fried chickpea balls.

Untitled-7

To me that looked more like sweet chapati. Not bad experimentation I would say. πŸ˜‰

Untitled-4

Sweets!!!

Untitled-5

Roasted nuts.

*******************************************************************

******************************************

****************

12 thoughts on “Taste of Israel : Israel Diary – 3

  1. That fish looks interesting yaar.

    Why the egg that coloured? Hummus whatever that is not looking good for my taste buds. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing. Sweets, they look awesome!

    Showcasing the grills, it looks lovely. πŸ˜€

    Neva knew you to be so bad as cook man, engineers are supposed to be great ones. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Oh dear, my mouth is watering so bad!!! The pictures are lovely. I love the food.

    Kosher is not pork, hahahahaa!! You seriously crack me up. Kosher usually means that which is fit for consumption according to ‘Torah’ – very similar to what Muslims consider as halal. And like the muslims, true Jews don’t eat pork because it does not ‘chew cud’ (the animals they can eat need to have cloved hoofs and should chew cud) and they also need to be killed in a way that causes instant death.

    Like

    • How are we to know that? That fellow was going on saying Kosher. Then tried explaining, which was more jumbled. =)) And there he used the word pork. So we came to conclusion that must be pork sausage or whatever. Pork was the only word we understood. =))

      Like

      • hehehehe!!! I know, it is confusing. They use the kosher for a lot of things – even salt and vegetables. Thanks to two of my Jewish neighbours, I now understand some of it. I was surprised to know how similar their food habits, clothes and customs are to the muslims – almost as if the muslims adopted whatever they had and added some twists here and there.

        Like

        • Also, the chappati thing that you posted – it is also very popular in Turkish and Lebanese cuisine. And it is so delicious…..saliva!!!

          Normally they use lamb, so you should be OK. They also eat beef a lot, so make sure to ask. Pork would be rare though.

          Like

Comments are closed.