…. fills my heart with wonder and I sing…..

To me, he is the most highly gifted poet of the Renaissance in India in its various aspects — literary, religious, social and philosophical. His intense religious mysticism combined with joy in life’s various interests, has a hypnotic hold on me.

“For East is East, and West is West,
And never the twain shall meet.” – Rudyard Kipling

I always find this very popular line by Kipling,  forgotten in Tagores work especially in his religious mysticism!!! There’s a spiritual fusion of East and West.

Today on his birth anniversary, I dedicate this song. A great bong friend of mine first made me listen to it while explaining the meaning. Later I found the hindi version of  the same.

This song is a celebration of the wonder of creation and our presence amidst the vast universe. It also captures the delight in the realization of the infinite within the finite.

We are so often prone to confining and consuming ourselves within narrow and parochial boundaries of nationality, language, religion, culture and ethnic identity and forget that as human beings we represent infinite possibilities that transcend all narrow boundaries.

It is only when we rediscover the infinite that lies within us, will we be able to arise and realize that we are all bound by the bonds of humanity that transcends all artificial divisions between us.

The English translation/meaning of the song by Gurudev himself:

My heart sings at the wonder of my place
In this world of light and life;
At the feel in my pulse of the rhythm of creation
Cadenced by the swing of the endless time.
I feel the tenderness of the grass in my forest walk,
The wayside flowers startle me:
That the gifts of the infinite are strewn in the dust
Wakens my song in wonder.
I have seen, have heard, have lived;
In the depth of the known have felt
The truth that exceeds all knowledge
Which fills my heart with wonder and I sing.

– Rabindranath Tagore

 

6 thoughts on “…. fills my heart with wonder and I sing…..

  1. 😀 Good to see you going into the depth of this song.

    Gurudev ke pronam. His songs are part of my life, can never dream of a life without his poetry.

    Like

  2. You explained very beautifully Bhaskar. This song is one of his best mystic songs’.

    Loho pronam Gurudev 🙂 Hey nutan, dekha dik aar bar janmero prothomo shubhakkhan……

    Like

  3. I consider myself to be lucky to have been born here so as to enjoy Gurudev’s creation. Pronam to him.

    You write beautifully Bhaskar. 🙂

    Like

  4. Nice article. 🙂

    My regards to this great man, he makes me feel proud to be an Indian,

    Like

  5. Lovely and very true explanation to the inner meaning of the song friend. 🙂

    Manas

    Like

  6. Wow! You really got to the depth of the lyrics. 😀 Nice!

    His songs are there for every occasion, for anything to everything in this universe and our life. As for me, life without Rabigaan I can never dream of!

    Like

Comments are closed.