The Guide, Philosopher and Friend.

To me Lord Shree Krishna is not just God but a Guide, Philosopher and Friend. His teachings as contained in the Bhagvat Gita, if followed, can change the destiny of man. On the auspicious occasion of Janmashtami, sitting so far off from all festivities going on at home, I am getting reminded of him more today.

So merciful you are to us Krishna. You give nectar and happiness freely. There is nothing we have to force or prepare, all we have to do is chant and sing to our hearts content your beautiful syllables. And our souls are cleansed by this the yuga dharma, and we leave our mental hells. You are sung with enthusiasm by the devotees all over the world. You are so deep, full of meaning and realization.

I bow before your holy name with straw in my teeth and my fists clenched in sincerity and beg that you allow me to utter you lifetime after lifetime and taste your glory!!!

The same dark clouds return, just as before,
And drench me in gloom, for it’s only fair,
That the dues of my Karma, I must eternally pay,
But they are harsh and severe, so hard to bear!

These waves of pain, they overwhelm me,
Drowning me in sorrow, no recourse I see.
In my anguish, I scream for help,
But I find only loneliness, mocking at me!

I look skywards and glimpse those fortunate souls,
The Devotees, Your most dearest Friends,
My pitiful condition espied, My guru exhort to me,
“Chant His Holy Name, He’ll set you free!”

I begin to cry, Your Name aloud,
‘Hare Krishna, HARE KRISHNA’, I scream to thee
With all the love and devotion in me,
To try to free myself of misery!

And soon I see, in the midst of my ruin,
You descending, Your Effulgent, Glorious self!
A gentle, loving smile, Your Face adorns,
Tears of remorse, gratitude stain my face.

Your compassionate glance dispels my grief,
I beg to Thee, Krishna, please deliver me,
Of this treacherous world, I’ve had my fill.
Its joys no longer enamour me.

O Glorious Maa, All Hail to thee!
For from You, those Glorious Words, I’ve learnt to say,
Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare
Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare!

Wishing all a very Happy and Blessed Janmashtami.

*******************************

*****************

********

15 thoughts on “The Guide, Philosopher and Friend.

  1. Wishing you the same BT. Nicely composed.
    We do are missing you here today. essp Uttam & Probir.

    Like

  2. May the Lord’s blessings be on you always Lalla. Missing you a lot.
    Stay safe always

    Lov
    Bhabhi

    Like

  3. I had tears in my eyes while reading through your poem Bhaskar!

    We all including Maa remembers you today. She sends her blessings.

    Like

  4. Very well penned,bhaiya!Thank you and happy janmashtami to you as well!May Lord Krishna grant you all that your heart desires:)

    Like

  5. Bless you Chhote. Be happy and pray Lord Krishna’s blessings are upon you forever.

    Like

  6. My heart filled with emotions I can’t even put down in words while reading your words. Proud of you my boy. Reading it & understanding what you really are saying, can say without any doubts that you have attained the knowledge, the truth which we all try to seek. As our Sree Sree Maa says, chanting the Lords name can deliver us from all pains of this materialistic world.

    His blessings will always be with you now that you know who he is. Stay blessed Bhaskar, you are a rare gem we have in our lives. Don’t ever stray away from this path of truth.

    Love
    PPC

    Like

  7. Happy Janamashtami Bhaskar……..sometimes what’s in the heart fills one’s being without one even being aware of it. Lord Krishna I know blesses you with might.

    Like

Comments are closed.