God Never Lets Us Down….

Image Courtesy google

I was amazed to read the book “If God is so Good, Why do I hurt so Bad” by David Biebel. It’s a story of his struggle, how his first son was killed by a rare degenerative genetic disease. If that was not bad enough his second son was then stricken with the same ailment. The book is about how to deal with suffering, and overcoming suffering and pain by submitting/surrendering you to God.

This book helps in developing an honest sense of how one might react to such incredible pain. I remember a time when I would always think since God would not give me more than I can bear; that no one close to me would die because I would not be able to bear it. I realized later how wrong I was!!

The death of a close one can be all consuming at first. Rest others with you get so neglected. It is ok to grieve and need time to come to grips with the situation. The author almost turned alcoholic, but he also embraced God. When things got too tough and he thought for sure that he was at his end he was sustained by some thing – Held up by Someone!!! God did not abandon him in the time of greatest struggle. Rather the Lord kept him from being wholly consumed with grief. The author’s reaction in the end was to turn more fully to God, and to embrace God. He was not broken nor did he fall into sin. This part I found so connected with when I thought about my own. I too had few very nice close friends who would always push me whenever I would feel down. Most importantly, God sent me someone like Minniedi to see I don’t falter and end up destroying my life, which at one time I was tempted to. He didn’t abandon me either!!!

It is this small bit of the book that made reading the entire thing worth it to me. Not that the rest was bad, but reading how another fellow human facing the same reacted to this was too inspiring. The pain that he went through and still experiences in this book is obvious. There is no denying that he was in agony. He is still able to turn to God, and he now has a much deeper understanding of pain suffering and healing.

Some people do suffer and that is not God’s fault. God does not want us to be in pain, but there is a use for the pain. It is like God reframing our perspective on the pain. Traits will devolve in our live through the suffering. It will take time, but there are benefits to the trial. God has a reason for what he does.

I am glad I read this book; it puts things related to grief in a new perspective. It helps you overcoming grief yourself. The very grief which still works detrimental to me at times, the pain I would feel thinking about my Brother, my parents, now I see differently. Yes the Lord did take away too precious ones from my life but he gave me few other irreplaceable ones, who are like his gift, his blessings for me!!

*******************************

********************

********

8 thoughts on “God Never Lets Us Down….

  1. Senti banana koi aape Seekhein

    But me have to say this is One of your Best posts. I believe that if God gives us pain or problems so does he give us the strength to face them. Its his way of testing us and we have to prove our ability in this.

    I loved your Last Para “Yes the Lord did take away too precious ones from my life but he gave me few other irreplaceable ones, who are like his gift, his blessings for me!!” Which is so True, if God took away something from us it did make sure to give us something in return to that. Just that we fail to realize that

    Like

  2. Very touching and inspiring BT. 🙂

    Very true, god do love us and just make us go thru tests. some are made to do so as he might b having some more bigger task chalked out for them.

    Like

  3. Amazing post, fantastic! Very very positive thoughts. Feel nice to see you move ahead in life positively.

    Like

  4. Glad to see your reflection in the new perspective. May the Lord always keep your guardian angels surrounding you.

    Like

  5. I think i really needed to read something like this.
    also, its beautifully written. thanks, bro. i will definitely read this book. 🙂

    Like

  6. Found this article, thought of sharing it.

    As shared by Akhil Jain , MBA-IB , I.I.F.T Delhi :
    Two of my favourite excerpts from the book ..
    “Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place.
    If I quit, however, it lasts forever. That surrender, even the smallest act of giving up, stays with me. So when I feel like quitting, I ask myself, which would I rather live with?”
    And
    Mounted on a light table, the X-ray showed my chest. Black meant clear; white meant cancer. My chest looked like a snowstorm.
    What I didn’t and couldn’t address at the time was the prospect of life. Once you figure out you’re going to live, you have to decide how to, and that’s not an uncomplicated matter. You ask yourself: now that I know I’m not going to die, what will I do? What’s the highest and best use of my self? These things aren’t linear, they’re a mysterious calculus. For me, the best use of myself has been to race in the Tour de France, the most grueling sporting event in the world.
    Every time I win another Tour, I prove that I’m alive-and therefore that others can survive, too. I’ve survived cancer again, and again, and again, and again. I’ve won four Tour titles, and I wouldn’t mind a record-tying five. That would be some good living.
    But the fact is that I wouldn’t have won even a single Tour de France without the lesson of illness.
    What it teaches is this:
    pain is temporary.
    Quitting lasts forever.
    http://dontgiveupworld.com/category/inspirational-people/

    Like

Comments are closed.