We must learn to Love and Live together!!!

Natural disasters reveal the real nature of mankind and the true culture of a nation. A calamity unites humanity. Adversity makes ordinary citizens perform extraordinary feats. Transcending differences and overcoming distances of all kinds, people rush to help one another. And what I faced from yesterday proved this beyond doubt. This whole calamity has taught me that in my country we all are finally one family, and religion or caste become meaningless in front of humanity.

South Bengal faced a deep depression on Saturday and it was worse time for Midnapore district. I was on my way back from Kolkata to Kharagpur that evening. After I crossed Kolaghat Thermal Plant, I faced heavy rains with very high velocity winds. By the time I reached a place called Khirai, we saw a big line of vehicles stranded. On inquiring we got to know that the bridge above the Khirai River (also called Kasai or Kansavati River) was submerged under water.

Paddy Fields under Rain/River water

Paddy Fields under Rain/River water

Then someone informed that water from the river was also overflowing into the villages nearby. The highway was dry but around us it was just water till my eyes went.

I knew this could be late night affair now. I took the umbrella, got down and walked towards the bridge. There I found few more people from Kharagpur and we all got together. Soon it was getting dark and we all decided to get back to our own vehicles with thoughts that soon we’ll be able to move on. I knew everyone was feeling hungry too.

The waiting went on through out the night and finally first light of dawn came. Tiredness and hunger both were making our waiting more difficult. We felt too helpless standing there waiting in anticipation. Just then we saw large number of villagers coming over to us. Most of them were young boys and with bottles of water in their hands. They gave us water and first thing they asked was – Did you all have anything to eat from yesterday night? When we replied in negative one of the boys suddenly started shouting and collecting others. They asked us not to worry and went off.

Outside the School Building

Outside the School Building

Within half an hour they were all back with local made bread, which they call “bun roti” and tea for all of us. The dry bread with tea was like Prasad from the God for all of us. Next they lead us all to the school building. On the way we saw the whole village was in total mess and everyone helping out each other to shift to dry high areas.

Around 11am we got the message that road is again open with the water receding. We all were getting ready to get back to our vehicles when those very villagers came with big vessels in hands. They contained rice, daal, some pumpkin sabzi and fish curry for all!!!! None were ready to let us go without proper food as they felt we all must be still not full, which was true too, and then who knows there could be more trouble further down the road.

All of us had food to our fill. Few of us wanted to pay them but they simply refused. On way back and even later, I am left thinking about the whole incident. We all are finally children of the same God. During adversity we all face it together and get affected the same way. How right these people were to join hands and be the support for one’s in need!!!

Among everything one thing I got convinced again, my country is these (extra)ordinary common people and they still have loads of humanity in them. When time arises they know how to stand beside others irrespective of caste, creed, and religion. I had read about such incidents during Mumbai Attack, Mumbai deluge, Gujrat quake and so many other calamity, this time I witnessed it myself!!! Someone commented to me later that where were those “Chaiwala and Chatwaalas of India” now when all were hungry. What was served to us was far beyond those “Waalas”!!! These people with their unselfish acts made me more convinced that – Yes this Country with its Common People is Indeed GREAT!!! And I feel proud and overwhelmed today to be part of such country.

The people there at Khirai Village taught me again – We must learn to Love and Live together!!!!

P:S: This post is just to show my appreciation for those poor villagers who ignoring their economic state, came forward to help us and provide us with comfort, as was possible and available to them. I feel these people and all such unknown faces of India who help selflessly, deserved bit of gratitude from me.

***************************

******************

********

16 thoughts on “We must learn to Love and Live together!!!

  1. this just made me cry i had tears in my eyes and yes its so true
    and for me mumbai deluge was the worst though mumbai attacks were horrid but for deluge i know how it was personally

    what else to say but hats off to these ppl all those “walas” came in form of those villagers

    Like

  2. This post reminded me of Mumbai deluge.I was stationed there and got stuck on my way.The people in a flat nearby asked us to come and take shelter.

    These calamities show the true character of people.

    Like

  3. Wow….this is indeed very touching and yes your statement calamity unites humanity is soo so true….and this kind of selfless gestures make one believe in the goodness of humanity, gives a ray of hope and floods you with emotions!

    Now i know why you were “out of touch”. Even in this weird situation now you have something nice to look at…. must have been an experience of a lietime. How did you all manage to sit in the car for so many hours…. impressive…..the mosquitoes must have had a feast while you guys starved….

    Like

  4. Hats off these villagers.Thanks for making the new post Man.Atleast we can now get the chance to appreciate their deeds.

    It is so true that calamity do unite people.They do so around the world.Same happening in India, with its vastly divided society is what makes the issue more applauding.

    Like

  5. P:S: This post is just to show my appreciation for those poor villagers who ignoring their economic state, came forward to help us and provide us with comfort, as was possible and available to them. I feel these people and all such unknown faces of India who help selflessly, deserved bit of gratitude from me.

    =))))))

    Abt my views will post later …lol

    Like

  6. What to do Bhaijaan. A simple post gets tangent comments. =)) So thought best to make it loud and clear why the post was made so that the message goes clearly. 😉

    Like

  7. Are people finding so much trouble in getting the meaning of simple appreciation too.Unfortunate are they then.
    I salute these Indians.Hoping someday I get to visit this awe-inspiring country.
    Thanxss Baskar for sharing and letting us know this side of India.

    Like

  8. Very touching indeed BB. Goodness does exist. We saw the same thing here during the earthquake some years back.

    Like

  9. Thanks for posting the details Thakur. Common man is the base of India and when they forget diff to stand beside other fellow nationals it gives a nice feel.

    Like

  10. Hmmm yaar how come i missed Episode 2…

    chalo bhai ne dukaan band kardi…

    bhi bhi ek hi baat kehta hu..

    Hum logon ko samajh sako to
    Hum logon ko samajh sako to samjho dilbar jaani
    Jitna bhi tum samjhoge utni hogi hairaani

    Apni chhatri tumko dedein kabhi jo barse paani
    Kabhi naye packet mein bechein tumko cheez puraani
    Phir bhi dil hai hindusatni

    Thode anari hain thode khiladi
    Ruk rukke chalti hai apni gaadi
    Thode anari hain thode khiladi
    Ruk rukke chalti hai apni gaadi
    Humein pyaar chahiye
    Aur paise bhi
    Hum aise bhi hain
    Hum hain vaise bhi

    Hum logon ko samajh sako to samjho dilbar jaani
    Ulti seedhi jaisi bhi hai apni yehi kahaani
    Thodi hummein khushiyaan bhi hain
    Thodi hai nadaani
    Thodi hum mein sachchaai hai
    Thodi beimaani
    Phir bhi dil hai hindusatni

    Aankhon mein kuchh aansoo hain kuchh sapne hain
    Aansoo aur sapne donon hi apne hain
    Aankhon mein kuchh aansoo hain kuchh sapne hain
    Aansoo aur sapne donon hi apne hain
    Dil dukha hai lekin toota to nahin hai
    Umeed ka daaman chooka to nahin hai

    Hum logon ko samajh sako to samjho dilbar jaani
    Thodi majboori hai lekin thodi hai manmaani
    Thodi tu tu main main hai aur thodi kheecha taani
    Hum mein kaafi baatein hain jo lagti hain deewani
    Phir bhi dil hai hindusatni

    Dil hai hindusatni
    Phir bhi dil hai hindustani

    Like

  11. Yes, I have myself faced it so many times when strangers have guided me through the known pathways.. Even before asking, people are ready to help you out by all means.. Just a small incident happened to me few days ago.. I was coming in a CAB when it dropped me in an unknown location and it was pitch dark for me to identify the route towards my house.. Only then a rickshawwala came towards me (Mind you – he had a passenger sitting.. He asked the passenger to get down as his house was just near by and even the passenger, understanding my situation got down the rickshaw).. The rickshaw wala dropped me at my place charging a very meager amount.. I then realized that there are many people who in form of GOD help us in someway or the other!!! I am thankful to the country I am living in 🙂

    Like

  12. BB

    very well said
    and i wish ppl start living upto this >> We must learn to Love and Live together!!!!

    Time’s have changed and also ppl’s view’s. But still we find ppl who do care abt others. We never feel lonely here even if we are all alone. We would always find ppl ready to help us.

    Like

Comments are closed.