20 Questions on Books

This was posted in one of my friend fellow bloggers blog. He wants me to reply to the questions too. And why not!!! Then it’s about books a subject I love discussing. 😀

**********************

1) What author do you own the most books by?

Alistair Maclean. (I have almost all his books, except for the few that people borrowed and never bothered to return) and Hardy Boys.

2) What book do you own the most copies of?

I have four copies of ‘The Da Vinci Code’ by Dan Brown. I thought I had lost the first one, so bought a second. Second one was borrowed by a friend and when he was not returning I took it has been permanently borrowed and bought one again. Later found the first was not lost, friend also returned the book after a gap of 2 years and to top that, someone gifted me a copy.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?

No! Sentences/Questions ending in prepositions are to be ruminated upon.  😉

4) What book have you read the most times in your life?

HMS Ulysses. (An Alistair Maclean book) The way he writes about World War II is such that you can’t take sides – the Axis power vs. the Allied powers. You learn to just hate war and the misery it brings.

And yet another would be ‘Illusions’ by Richard Bach. I think that book gives me answers to all the questions that keep cropping up in my life. Each time I read it, when I face a tough spot, and each time, it gives me some new meaning to life.

5) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?

The Famous Five series.

6) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?

‘The Three Mistakes of my Life’ by Chetan Bhagat. (Mr Bhagat’s book is full of mistakes of its own. )

7) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

8.) If you could force everyone to read one book, what would it be?

’Running from Safety’ by Richard Bach. That book talks about how we kill the kid inside each one of us just because we want to appear ‘grown-up’.

9) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?

No idea. I haven’t really been following the latest authors especially the foreign ones.

10) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?

’Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less’ by Jeffrey Archer. I thought it was fast-paced, devious, and funny!

11) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?

Chetan Bhagat books. ‘Hello’ was a disaster, and actually competed strongly with the book –  One Night at a Call Center in terms of ridiculousness quotient.

12) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?

The Bourne Legacy by Lustbader. (It is a continuation of Robert Ludlum’s Bourne series, after Ludlum’s death by someone called Lustbader. After reading this, you will understand that Indian movies with those clichéd concepts are unnecessarily reviled)

13) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Ahem… well the original Shakespeare literature’s, though I love reading those because of it’s poetic flow.

14) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?

Shakespeare, of course.

15) Austen or Eliot?

Tough call… but will go with Eliot, probably.

16) What is your favorite novel?

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. (I think the opening quote, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…” is applicable to many situations in life.)

17) Play?

Julius Caesar, followed by some of Oscar Wilde’s plays.

18) Short story?

The face on the wall by E.V. Lucas, almost anything by Saki, O Henry, or Anton Chekhov.

19) Work of non-fiction?

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish – a compilation of entrepreneurial success stories by Rashmi Bansal.

20) Who is your favourite writer?

I can’t name just one. It would depend on the genre. I usually go for any book whose reviews I find good.

******************************

**********************

***********

7 thoughts on “20 Questions on Books

  1. I completely agree with The Bourne Legacy – the most horrendous work I have read in a long time. It’s a complete trash and made me so angry because jason Bourne happens to be my most favourite hero, after Howard Roark.

    Like

  2. Thanks Bhaskar to take up the quiz
    But why not Chaucer, do elaborate.
    Let me go & chk if Parul has completed hers. 🙂

    Like

  3. @ Pankaj – Its not that I don’t like Chaucer. But I love Shakespeare’s work more. Many critic claim gender bias in his work towards women. But frankly I find his work less about women but more about men and how they are feminized. Most of his hero’s if you read would get are trapped like women, in the plots of other men.

    But that does not stop me from reading Chaucer. Shakespeare, the poetic language is what I love, hence the choice.

    Like

  4. @ Meenaji – There is a portion in the book that says they watched the Godhra riot scenes and all on NDTV. But the thing is Godhra riots happened in 2002 and NDTV New channel/s came into being in 2003.

    This is just one. There are more. The book is more like watching a Bollywood movie – entertaining but devoid of logic or reasoning. Yes the narration is excellent.

    Like

  5. Hey bhai…Absolutely loved ur discussion on books..I thing i seriously need some lessons from u :D..I mean suggesions..Will definately pareshanofy u 😛

    Btw U read any Indian authors?

    Like

  6. Yes Anku, Indian Author I read. Arundhuti Roy and Naipaul are my favourite. Chetan Bhagat is always there but his books I read more as masala novels. =)) Then Vikram Seth is there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

