Mother o’ mine

While reading the poems collection of Rudyard Kippling today, I came across this poem. His poems have always been a very favourite of mine and I go through the collection whenever I am free. They are in very simple language but always touch you. When he was five his parents had sent him off to England while they stayed back in India. That had actually made him very sad and many of his poems show it.

Here’s a poem by him which again is a simple one. Nothing too poetic but it touches you.

If I were hanged on the highest hill,
Mother o’ mine, O mother o’ mine!
I know whose love would follow me still,
Mother o’ mine, O mother o’ mine!

If I were drowned in the deepest sea,
Mother o’ mine, O mother o’ mine!
I know whose tears would come down to me,
Mother o’ mine, O mother o’ mine!

If I were damned of body and soul,
I know whose prayers would make me whole,
Mother o’ mine, O mother o’ mine!

And while reading through the poem I suddenly recalled a song by Jimmy Osmond – Mother of Mine. A song again with very nice lyrics and Jimmy has sung it too with lot of feel.

And here are the lyrics of the song.

Mother of mine you gave to me,
all of my life to do as I please,
I owe everything I have to you,
Mother sweet Mother of mine.

Mother of mine when I was young
you showed me the right way
things should be done,
without your love where would I be,
Mother sweet Mother of mine.

Mother you gave me happiness,
much more than words can say,
I play the lord that he may bless you,
every night and every day.

Mother of mine now I am grown
and I can walk straight all on my own,
I’d like to give you what you gave to me,
Mother sweet Mother of mine.

One thought on “Mother o’ mine

  1. Yes, the song and the poem… they have always been my favorites too. Infact, before,at times even unknowingly I used to start whistling it and yeah my mom used to love that….hehe…

    Bhai just add that song from Taare Zameen par… and it will be the perfect ode to a mother,….

    Thasnks for reminding of both these…

    Like

Comments are closed.